What is Kosher Food?


Kosher is from the Hebrew word kasher, which means "fit" and "proper". The term is usually used for food that Jews are permitted to eat under dietary laws that are derived from passages in the biblical books of Leviticus and Deuteronomy.

Some elements of Jewish and Islamic dietary laws are common, while some are not. Here are some major differences:

Kosher
Halal
Blessing on animals
For more information, please click here
Blessing before entering slaughtering area, not on each animal
Blessing on each animal while slaughtering
Gelatin from:

Dry Bones


Skin and Bones
Fish
Pork

 
 

Maybe


From Kosher animals
Kosher fish only
Allowed by some liberal orthodox rabbis

 
 

Halal bones only


From Halal animals
Any fish
Not allowed at all

 
Alcohol
Permitted, depending on source
Not permitted
Combining Dairy & Meat
Not permitted
Not an issue
Special Occasion
Additional restrictions during Passover
Same rules apply all the time
From an article by Dr. M. Riaz, Texas A & M University; minor adjustments by eat-halal.com

It must be noted that if a product is Kosher certified, it does not mean that the product is automatically Halal. While it is true that Kosher certification can be used as a tool for eating halal, one must be very careful. There are Kosher certification agencies which certify products and ingredients which are not considered Kosher by many Jews.

Reference: Eat-Halal.com





Back

Back To Islam Awareness Homepage

Latest News about Islam and Muslims






Contact IslamAwareness@gmail.com for further information